20 January 2018, Saturday, 18:28

European Parliament chooses members of Delegation for Relations with Belarusian

The European Parliament approved the composition of the Delegation for Relations with Belarus at a plenary meeting on July 17 in Strasbourg.

The first meeting to elect its head and deputy heads of the delegation will be held at the beginning of October, BelaPAN reports.

The delegation will consist of Christofer Fjellner (Sweden), Agnieszka Kozlowska-Rajewicz (Poland), Bogdan Andrzej Zdrojewski, (Poland) from the European People's Party; Andrejs Mamikins (Latvia), Jens Nilsson (Sweden) and Patrizia Toia (Italy) from the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats; Valdemar Tomasevski (Lithuania) and Kazimierz Michal Ujazdowski (Poland) from the European Conservatives and Reformists Group; Nils Torvalds (Sweden) from Group of the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe; Bronis Rope (Lithuania) from the Greens/European Free Alliance; and Iveta Grigule (Latvia) from Europe of freedom and direct democracy Group.

The Delegation for Relation with Belarus was set up in the European Parliament more than 10 years ago. Since June 2012, it had been headed by Polish MEP Filip Kaczmarek, who was not re-elected to the new parliament.