24 September 2017, Sunday, 11:41

Russia May Take Measures In Connection With Partial Abolishment Of Visa Regime By Belarus


The measures can be taken to prevent foreigners who “cause concern” from getting into the territory of the Russian Federation.

Russia may take measures after the partial abolishment of the visa regime for the citizens of 80 countries by Belarus, to prevent the citizens of the countries that “cause alert” from getting into the territory of the Russian Federation, Executive Manager of the Association of Travel Companies of Russia (ATCR) Maja Lomidze believes, RIA Novosti reports.

Previously, Aliaksandr Lukashenka signed a decree providing for the visa-free order of entry for the term of no longer than 5 days through the admission point National Airport “Minsk” for the citizens of 80 countries. The decree covers 39 European countries, including the whole EU, as well as Brazil, Indonesia, USA, Japan and other states.

«When people arrive to Belarus by air, they have to go through the passport control in any case, and there is a separate passport control for the citizens of Russia and Belarus. Some measures seem likely to be taken, so that questionable people or citizens of the countries, which cause alert, would not have a chance to freely leak to Russia in future. This is the issue to negotiate by Belarus and Russia, it’s hard to say anything particular now,” — Mrs. Lomidze has said in an interview to “Russia 24”.

Speaking about the effect which Lukashenka’s steps would bring, Lomidze has noted she expects “absolute benefit” for the inbound tourism in Belarus.

«Any kind of liberalization, especially visa abolishment leads to dead-certain growth of demand from the side of at least the basic markets, which arrive there,” — Executive Manager of the Association of Travel Companies of Russia has said.

“It’s a shame we cannot follow their example,” — she has added. At present time, the visa-free regime in the Russian Federation remains in force with regard to most countries of the CIS and the Latin America, as well as Serbia, Mongolia, Thailand and a number of other countries.