22 October 2020, Thursday, 11:43
Sim Sim, Charter 97!

350 Graduates Of BSU Physics Faculty Call To Hold New Presidential Election In Belarus

350 Graduates Of BSU Physics Faculty Call To Hold New Presidential Election In Belarus

Among the signatories is the first head of independent Belarus Stanislau Shushkevich.

Graduates and staff of the Faculty of Physics of BSU signed an appeal calling for putting an end to the violence, restoring the rule of law, and holding new presidential elections in compliance with the law. The text of the appeal was sent to tut.by by its authors.

The appeal was drawn up in two languages: Belarusian and Russian, signatures under it were collected online during the period of September 2 to 17.

“Guided by the laws of probability distribution, the logic of mathematical statistics, relying on the evidence of violations during the electoral process, and keeping in mind Article 1.3 of the Constitution of the Republic of Belarus, we demand that the results of the presidential elections in the Republic of Belarus held on 09.08.2020 be declared invalid,” the graduates said in their appeal.

The text notes that the presidential elections “were not open and transparent, and the events accompanying them are characterized by gross violations of the country's Constitution and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.”

The signatories call to “stop the violence, bring to justice those responsible for the beatings and murders of civilians, release political prisoners, end their persecution, and hold new fair elections.”

By their appeal, the graduates and employees of the faculty express solidarity and moral support to the Belarusian society, which defends its constitutional rights.

The appeal was signed by more than 350 people, including physicists of different years of release: from 1956 to 2020. Among the signatories of the appeal there are several current teachers, associate professors and candidates of sciences, as well as the first head of independent Belarus Stanislau Shushkevich (he was the head of the nuclear physics department in 1971-1990), independent analyst, economist Siarhei Chaly, general director of the founders.ai investment company Mikhail Rumyantsau, and astronomer, photographer, teacher Viktar Malishchyts.